Carbon County Commissioners break the ceiling

First female Chairperson appointed at board meeting


January 12, 2023

Courtesy of Carbon County Clerk

Left to right: Carbon County Sheriff Alex Bakken, County Coroner Brittany Nyman, Clerk of District Court Mara Sanger, County Commissioner R. Travis Moore, Judge Snyder, County Commissioner Willing John Johnson, County Clerk Gwynn Bartlett, County Treasurer Lindsey West, County Assessor Renee Snider and County Attorney Sarah Chavez-Harkins.

Throughout the history of the Board of Carbon County Commissioners (BOCCC) three women sat on the board; Linda Fleming, Lindy Glode who served as vice chairman and Sue Jones. At the January 3, 2023 meeting of the commissioners, Sue Jones was named Chairperson. She is the first woman in Carbon County history to chair the BOCCC. Jones has served as a commissioner for 10 years. Jones said she is very honored and humbled to have been chosen as chairperson.

There were also nine newly elected officials sworn in by District Judge Dawnessa Snyder at this meeting.

Carbon County Clerk Gwynn Bartlet...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 09/29/2023 07:06