Saratoga FBLA enjoys state success


Photos courtesy Jared Mason

Thomas Ingraham, Katie Loose, Keynote speaker Laymon Hicks, Sarah Burton and Meredith Lincoln.

With only four members in attendance at the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Conference, Saratoga was one of the smallest chapters. However, that didn't deter them from enjoying the keynote speaker, Laymon Hicks, learning at the provided workshops, making new friends, having fun at the social events and competing in a variety of business related events.

Saratoga Middle/High School seniors Sarah Burton, Katie Loose, Meredith Lincoln and Thomas Ingraham were the students who represented Saratoga FBLA in Cheyenne, March 16 - 18 at the State Conference. Competing against nearly 700 students from 35 schools around the state can be daunting, but the Saratoga students stepped up to the challenge.

The testing and presentation events took place at the Radisson Hotel and Laramie County Community College on Thursday and Friday. After those two days of competition, the much awaited awards ceremony took place on Saturday, March 18. Events were called in alphabetical order with the winners called randomly to the stage. Once on stage, as the excitement and anticipation grew, awards were presented from fourth place down to the eventual event winner.

In Meredith Lincoln's first-ever FBLA competition, the SHS senior took first place in the Client Service event.

Thomas Ingraham took second place in the Computer Applications category and took another second place award for his computer software skills in Spreadsheet Applications.

In the team event for creating a Public Service Announcement, Katie Loose and Meredith Lincoln earned fourth place for their "Safe Use of Drones" video.

Earning an award at state means those students have earned the right to represent Wyoming at the National FBLA competition in Anaheim, California this summer.

Photos courtesy Jared Mason


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018